a wake-up call

23 Aug

In light of the national conversation about rape – and while it’s an ugly topic, it is a very real topic for all women and deserves the national dialogue – this is the first I’ve heard of another side to the story.

What laws are in place to protect the woman pregnant as a result of a rape after the child is born?  As Shauna Prewitt so heartbreakingly writes, in 31 states, not many.

A must read.  And a wake-up call to those 31 state legislatures.  And time for women to start insisting – loudly – that these legislators need to do just that.

 

2 Responses to “a wake-up call”

  1. shaybrandon August 25, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    Wow…I don’t understand: a.) why a rapist would want to seek parental rights and b.) how it is legal that he can. I would assume because of the nature of the way the child was conceived there would be more laws against this. I never realized that a rapist wanting parental rights was even a possibility.

  2. maliakmanor August 25, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    Yeah, I agree. I have never heard of a man demanding privileges from the woman they impregnated during rape. It could be that her rapist was someone she knew, not a stranger. In that case, I can see it happening.

Comments are closed.

