Hmm…

26 Aug

Saw this on Pinterest and had to share

2 Responses to “Hmm…”

  1. Samantha Ellison September 9, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

    How do these stereotypes of women affect them? How do gender stereotypes in general affect people?

  2. shaybrandon September 11, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    I think that the female stereotype makes it difficult for a women to enter a “man’s world”. When I was younger my dad never told me that I couldn’t do things with him. I was allowed to go fishing with him, help him with maintaining the cars, and helping with yard work. In high school I was the only female technical staff member for our auditorium. There was one event that we held were the man who was bringing equipment wouldn’t give me anything to carry, saying “oh, sweetie. you don’t need to be carrying that.” It amused the guys that I worked with but I was not that happy about it. It was my job to help carry and set things up. I was being prevented from doing that because some guy thought I couldn’t handle it.

    Gender stereotypes affect everyone. Males are still expected to be tough and be the ones who do the protecting. Females are expected to be weaker and let males protect them. There is still that double standard of men being able to sleep with whoever they want but if a woman does that she is a slut. I believe that it affects us because we have not succeeded in breaking the stereotypes.

Comments are closed.

