Link

about the duggars

4 Sep

http://jezebel.com/duggars/

This is a Jezebel article about The Duggar family.  I have never personally been a fan of theirs myself, but the article examines them as a cult.  I don’t know if I totally buy into all of it, but it definitely made me think.  Enjoy 🙂

3 Responses to “about the duggars”

  1. shaybrandon September 5, 2012 at 2:11 am #

    I must admit that I have watched ’19 Kids and Counting’ and often wonder what the parents were thinking having that many children (especially Michelle). But I’ve never really looked at it as a cult before. Some people could argue that that is how the parents want to raise their children, if the children don’t like it they can leave once they are old enough. On the flip side of that I wonder if the children would still have their family or if they would be ostracized by leaving.

    • clairekochmer September 5, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

      I hadn’t really thought about it before either. I agree, it will be interesting to see what happens if/when any of the family members decide they do not want to practice the same religion or live the same lifestyle as their parents. I am also curious to see what impact being televised for a good portion of their life will have on the younger children. If they will be more or less likely to leave the nest.

  2. Samantha Ellison September 9, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

    Great points raised by both of you. I wonder why such a family is being televised? Is it that the notion of them having 19 kids is so interesting…or is there maybe more to the picture. I often wonder what role is Michelle perpetuating toward young women who watch her show? What is most important to her….obviously being a mother…of these children it would seem. Does such connection to fame for being a mother instill the notion of celebrity status? I know that if it were back in the late 1930’s she would have received very high honors for having that many children by the government, for taking up her “duty” as a women.

Comments are closed.

