When A Man Is the Victim

6 Sep

I am currently in Family Law or Political Science 241, and this is a class that cultivates a lot of very interesting discussion. Also, wanting to be a family lawyer makes this class extremely interesting to me.

Recently, the class got on the topic of rape and the difference between men and women under this subject. Since talking about it in class, I have done quite a bit of searching, hoping to find interesting articles or stories pertaining to men who have been raped. However, normally it will be said that the male was “sexually assaulted.”

I’m bringing this up because often we focus on how women are treated differently than men and not taken as seriously, but what about the man? I do not agree with the belief that a man cannot be raped. Respectfully, in my opinion, they absolutely can. It may not happen as often, but unfortunately, it is happening.

 

What do all of you think?

7 Responses to “When A Man Is the Victim”

  1. Lacie September 7, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Rape is wrong no matter who the victim is. I think that a man being raped happens more often than what people think. I believe that men are less likely to come forward and make it known that he was raped in fear of being “less of a man”. That is why it is uncommon to hear about a man being raped. But, I agree men can be raped just as women can. It is definitely a very sad situation.

  2. jennifer ludy grove September 7, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    Such a fascinating and debatable topic. Can’t wait.

  3. karaleesmith September 9, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    I completely agree that men can be raped and agree with Lacie about how men have too much pride to come forward. Also a man is viewed as “domain” so for him to admit to being violated it strips his masculinity. Rape is horrible regardless of which sex the victim is, but if a male came forward do you think he would get as much support from his family or friends?

  4. lisaanneryan September 9, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    It is rare but it can definitely happen. Some people don’t believe it is possible, but the victims could be children, men with learning disabilities or men who are intoxicated. It makes me wonder though if it really is rare or if it just doesn’t get reported because he feels it would immaculate him.

  5. Samantha Ellison September 9, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    I think it is worth taking time to examine the notion of gender roles themselves. I think Kara brings up a good point about a man being “stripped of his masculinity.” But, what does that really mean? Why do we label people as masculine and feminine and why does this in a way reinforce our gender? Shouldn’t it be that if anyone is raped it is a horrific act….should there be different forms of rape based on gender or is rape rape?

  6. maliakmanor September 12, 2012 at 1:42 am #

    I agree that men may think that it makes them less masculine by revealing themselves as a victim. Rape is viewed as embarrassing; however, I think it is important to note that men are not the only ones who hide this information. The majority of rapes with female victims are not reported.
    I agree with Samantha, and that is why I posted this question. I believe it is just rape and there should not be that separation made by gender.

  7. brittanyposey22 September 16, 2012 at 1:51 am #

    I feel like this situation is the same with domestic abuse. A man can be abused by a woman. Women are just as capable as men of being violent. In some of my criminal justice classes, we often talk about how these crimes can be overlooked because men don’t report them out of fear of losing their masculinity.

Comments are closed.

