Margaret’s Words of Wisdom

12 Sep

This is how Margaret Thatcher thinks about Women and Politics.

Margaret Thatcher was the first woman to hold the position of elected Prime Minister in England, in 1979. She held the position for three terms then resigned in 1991; she was feeling the repercussions of unpopular policy and tension within her party. In addition, Thatcher occupied a seat in the House of Commons in 1959,  parliamentary under secretary for pensions and national insurance in 1961, secretary of state for education and science in  1970, and was leader of the Conservative Party in 1975 until she made history in 1979, receiving a position she believed a woman wouldn’t occupy in her lifetime.

3 Responses to “Margaret’s Words of Wisdom”

  1. clairekochmer September 13, 2012 at 1:27 am #

    Have you seen the movie they made about her, Iron Lady, I believe? I thought it was pretty good, I just wished it showed a little bit more of her time in office, rather than her as an older woman. I think they did a good job of showing how strong willed she was though.

  2. brittanyposey22 September 14, 2012 at 4:05 am #

    I really enjoyed the Iron Lady! It was a good movie but I do agree that they should have shown more of her political involvement. I had an opportunity to learn a lot about Thatcher in my comparative politics class. Even if you don’t agree with her political ideals, she is a remarkable lady and a good example of a strong woman!

    • clairekochmer September 14, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

      I completely agree, she was awesome. I also learned most of what I know about her from when I took comparative politics last year 🙂

Comments are closed.

