Do I Want a Prenup?

14 Sep

Recently, I have encountered discussions concerning prenuptial agreements, and I am fascinated about this topic. Honestly, it is not a subject I have given a lot of thought, but I have found that is the case with most individuals— they simply don’t know how they feel. I have asked a collection of people what they think, and now, I am asking all of you:

 

How do you feel about prenups?

 

I’m including two articles. One is a 2010 article from USA Today titled: “Prenuptial agreements: Unromantic, but Important.” This article offers multiple perspectives on the topic, all of which are very interesting and insightful. http://www.usatoday.com/money/perfi/basics/2010-03-08-prenups08_CV_N.htm

Then Ask Men’s “How To: Convince Her To Sign A Preup,” which I included simply for entertainment purposes.  http://www.askmen.com/money/how_to_150/190b_how_to.html

 

Personally, I could see myself getting one. There are some prenuptial agreements that, in my opinion, cover offensive and ridiculous topics like weight limits and sexual demands. Mine would not consist of those but the important financial details logically make a lot of sense. It’s definitely not a romantic thought and I am a total sap, but what do you think?

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Do I Want a Prenup?”

  1. jennifer ludy grove September 15, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    Honestly? I have one. And I wouldn’t have married without one. When you take away the flowers and the lace, marriage is a contractual agreement.

  2. brittanyposey22 September 16, 2012 at 1:48 am #

    I think that I will get one when I marry. You may love the person at the time and completely trust them but people can always change. I would want to protect myself and my assets, especially if I have children to worry about. You don’t know how successful you will be later on in life, but personally, I would want to ensure that I got to keep everything that I earned!

  3. lapatterson September 18, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

    I’ve thought about this several times. I am engaged, and this topic comes up every once in a while between my fiance and myself. I personally think that I will be fine without one. I won’t really have any assets, that I’ve gained on my own, when entering the marriage. The assets that we obtain during our marriage will be considered “ours” and if for some reason we get a divorce we both will have equal interest in our stuff. We would have to settle it out then. However, I do see why people would want to get one. If I were to marry later on in life, after I have established my own assets, you better believe I would get one.

Comments are closed.

