Aside

I’m a member …

20 Sep

I’m a member and secretary of the National Association for Black Journalists and the last 2 weeks we’ve had 2 inspiring women come to our meetings and share their knowledge with us about the journalism world. This story is about Sandra Chapman, an African American woman working at Channel 13 as an investigative reporter. My favorite story she told had to do with her work as a journalist helping catch a criminal 33 years after the fact. And it was right here in Indiana! I have her book and I’m almost done reading it (if you want to borrow it let me know).

 

http://bsunabj.com/2012/09/12/sandra-chapman-speaks-at-nabj-meeting/

3 Responses to “I’m a member …”

  1. jennifer ludy grove September 21, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    I would love a book review! [hint] 🙂

  2. kjbaker24 September 21, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    Can, and will, do. =]

  3. maliakmanor September 23, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    I would love to read the book! haha.
    I really loved the article. I learned so much that I had no idea about.
    I’m glad she emphasized helping the community through her work. It is not as obvious, I don’t think, how in a position like hers she is able to help. She isn’t a doctor or police officer, but that does not mean she’s limited and I think that is true in any career path.

Comments are closed.

