Moving Forward?

24 Sep

Taking a step leap back

CLICK HERE FOR VIDEO

Check out the 1960’s commercial and see how women can work an office machine! I know I was shocked that we could push buttons to make a copy too. Every time I start to think women are gaining momentum in equality there is always an obsticle weither it be the glass ceiling, the wag gap or even women conterspection. Women gained the right to vote in 1920 yet 40 years later women are still not portrayed as equal and ignorant. This commercial shows how society viewed women in the 60’s as a sex symbol… has much changed?

2 Responses to “Moving Forward?”

  1. jcjohnson3 September 24, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    Wow, I was amazed how stupid they made her. This made me look up more sexist commercials. They really idealized the homemaker back then. In a bunch of 1950’s commercials, husbands just yelled at their wives for not being good enough at something, like making a cup of coffee. The woman would pleasantly take it and wonder how they could change their ways.

  2. clairekochmer September 24, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    I agree that these videos are offensive, and offensive. I think that the show Mad Men does a really great job of showing how women were viewed/treated in the work place and at home during the 1960’s. I am very thankful to the women of the second feminist movement. I think we are also experiencing some of the same things right now with all the debate over birth control, and other body issues relating to women.

Comments are closed.

