Iron Jawed Angels

25 Sep

Image

Would you have sacrificed all that Alice Paul and the other women did? Is there any cause that you feel strongly
about? How far would you go to further that cause?

How would you feel if you did not have the right to vote today?

What has the right to vote brought to the lives of women? To the lives of men?

How would things be different today if women did not have the right to vote?

2 Responses to “Iron Jawed Angels”

  1. shaybrandon September 25, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    Honestly, I’m not sure that I would have sacrificed all that the Suffragettes did. They gave up being married, relationships with friends and family, and they took a lot of heat. That is a lot to do now, not to mention 100 years ago. It’s not that there are no causes that I think are worth all of this effort, I’m just not sure if there is a cause that I am so into that I would make it my life.

    I think that I would feel left out if I didn’t have the right to vote. I was 17 during the last Presidential election and I felt left out because a majority of my friends could vote. I at least knew that I would be able to vote in the next election, I can’t imagine what it would feel like to know that you will never get to vote.

    I believe that the right to vote has allowed many women to make advances in the work place. There are women in Congress, running businesses, being lawyers, doctors, ect. The right to vote gave women a voice, that voice brought equality. We are not completely equal to men but we are much closed than the Suffragettes were.

    The right to vote had a big impact on men as well. They realized that women were more than just pretty dolls to pamper and parade around. Women could be wives and mothers but also hold office, have a job, or have life outside of the home. They realized that there was more to women then what they originally believed.

    Life would be very different today if women did not have the right to vote. I believe that women would still be in the home and not have gone much further with out the right to vote. If women had never won the right to vote would there have ever been civil rights and race equality? Would the LGBT community even exist? I honestly think that the answer would be no on both account. The Suffragettes were the first to truly complain about inequality and that helped pave the way for others,

  2. kjbaker24 September 26, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    Well we finished the movie and all I can say is wow. No, I didn’t cry but I did sniffle a bit. I’m more motivated to vote now that ever. To be honest, I don’t have anything in my life right now that I’d be willing to die for as far as beliefs. Not to say that I wouldn’t if my cause was just, but I suppose you could say I’m rather content with things at the moment. If I didn’t have a right to vote today? Well, that would suck. I’m not exactly a politician but I know the difference between right and wrong and therefore I know who I’m voting for come this election year. It’s out duty to vote. Now, if I was raised without getting a vote, you can believe I’d ask why. I’m not exactly the quietest or most passive person in the world. I like to think that if I were around back in the day, I’d make one hell of a determined suffragist. To Alice Paul’s extent, maybe not, but you never know how you’ll react until you’re in that situation.

    The woman of today would certainly have to get a right to vote. It’s hard to imagine it any other way but with time comes evolution and the evolution of women was a big one, full of rambunctious, in your face kind of personalities. Definitely not the dainty girls of the past. Nowadays, women are powerful, ambitious, and determined. Believe me, if votes for women was an issue to today…well..it wouldn’t be an issue for long. One stern look from mom and every male senator in the US would give us the vote. I’m proud to say, worrying about my right to vote isn’t on my mind, because I know it will always be there.

Comments are closed.

