A mother’s power?

30 Sep

I read an opinion article in The Star Press recently that said women have gained power everywhere in life, but they have lost power in the home over their children. In some cases I can see what the author means. He said women have become weak when it comes to raising their kids. They ask questions like, “How about helping Mommy clean up your toys?” Instead of just telling their kids to pick up their toys. Not all mothers are like this, but I can see his point. I see mothers in the grocery store who don’t tell their kids no. When I was younger, my mother would tell me no and there would be no discussion. Parenting has become a lot more sensitive in general, making sure that there is compromise between the parent and the child. Maybe things would be better if parents had the ultimate authority, and mothers stopped worrying about hurting their children’s feelings.

What do you think? 

3 Responses to “A mother’s power?”

  1. cortsanders12 September 30, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    I personally feel like parents in general now a days want to be their child’s friend. My parents always reminded my siblings and I that they were not our friends but our parents. I believe that is more valuable then trying to not step over your child feelings. If anything they would respect their parents more if they developed a back bone. If you think about it, who pays the bills so you have water and heat, and that favorite cable channel that you watch on the daily? Who clothes and feeds you? I think that right there would set any child straight.

  2. Lacie October 1, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    I have seen several children that walk all over their parents, but on the flip side I’ve seen several parents walk all over their children. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about parenting (since I found out that I’m going to be a mommy!). I think that parents need to be somewhere in the middle. I can understand why parents would want to be “friends” with their children. If you are more of a “friend” then the chances are your child will be more likely to come to you with important questions and concerns instead of their other friends. However, as a parent you have a responsibility to actually be a parent instead of just another friend. Your children need to feel like your a friend, but also know that you are the one who runs the show.

  3. jennifer ludy grove October 1, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    Congratuations Lacie!! I heard someone once say that [paraphrasing] “your kids will have lots of friends. They will only have one parent.” That has always stuck with me. I know it’s heartbreaking to go through the “hated” period that all parents of teenagers (despite how “BFF” they are) but there is something to the “tough love” theory. Life isn’t fair. It doesn’t hand anybody anything. (Unless you’re Paris Hilton, ahem.) Best to find out when they’re young than to be shattered as an adult with no Plan B.

    I read the article too. Glad you picked it to discuss Lisa. Here’s the link:
    http://www.thestarpress.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=2012309290013&nclick_check=1

Comments are closed.

