Image

What do you think a feminist looks like now?

2 Oct

What do you think a feminist looks like now?

When I think of a modern day feminist I think of Tina Fey. I think of someone who is funny, witty, ironic, and very intelligent.

Who do you think of and why?

4 Responses to “What do you think a feminist looks like now?”

  1. shaybrandon October 2, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    I agree with you on Tina Fey. When I think of a modern day feminist I think of Jane Lynch, for the same reasons. I see a modern day feminist as a woman who shows other women and girls that she can do whatever she wants to do. She is witty but has a take charge attitude.

  2. lisaanneryan October 3, 2012 at 12:34 am #

    When I think of a modern-day feminist, I think of someone like Hillary Clinton. The media has never really been on her side, sometimes picking apart pictures saying she looks too old. But she has never backed down from any negative public attention and is now serving as the Secretary of State.

  3. Claire October 3, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    I completely agree that Tina Fey is a great representation of feminism today. I think that by using humor and irony to poke fun at the system/ gender norms, people are more receptive to their messages. It is a less abrasive way to spread the word of feminism. It also encourages other women and men to think about the things they find funny in the joke/message and why that is. I think that a new wave of feminism is happening right now, especially in the comedy world, and women like Tina Fey and Amy Poehler have embraced their role in it.

  4. clairekochmer October 3, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    I completely agree with you that Tina Fey is a representation of feminism today. I think that by using humor, irony, and other comedic strategies feminists are able to get their message out to the public in a way that people embrace it. I think that because humor is involved, people are not put off by a message that challenges the system. The humor also causes people to think about why they are laughing about the subject, and what that means about the hegemonic ideas that are constantly accepted throughout society. On another note, I think that many feminists are similar to Fey because, like Tina Fey, they don’t want to become the face of a new feminist wave. Although Tina Fey is clearly a feminist, many people wish she would be more outspoken about her views and become more of an advocate for feminism. I think that in this new era of feminism, people are not as willing to take a role like Gloria Steinem did in the ’60’s, and I have mixed feelings about this. Do you think that it is harmful to the continuing feminist movement, or do you think that it encourages more ordinary women to get involved?

Comments are closed.

