“Men Rule Media Coverage of Women’s News”

7 Oct

I recently came across this article that discusses the coverage of female related news that in the media. For example, birth control and abortion have been big topics in the news. These types of subjects get talked about a lot, especially during election times. Most male candidates speak about their opinions on women’s health issues. Most articles in major magazines about women’s health issues are written by men.The article also discusses that in media stories covering birth control, 75% of the quotes and opinions came from men. 52% of opinions came from men about women’s rights. The article also discusses that male opinions were the ones expressed in most media outlets regarding other important issues like the economy and politics.

What are your thoughts on this? Should men be the ones expressing their opinions about issues that don’t affect them? Should they be allowed to decided if a woman has a right to use birth control or get an abortion. Personally, I think that it is admirable if a man is in support of women’s rights out of concern for the women in his life or just women in general. However, I don’t agree with a man telling me what do to do with my body. A man does not have to go through a pregnancy. The man is not forced to raise a child resulting in an unwanted pregnancy. In today’s society, basically the only legal obligation a man has to a child, is a financial one. A woman really does not have that choice unless they chose to be a negligent parent. I’m not saying that I would choose to have an abortion, I just don’t think that a man or woman for that matter has the right to tell me that I can’t. I also think that after reading this article, that women need to have a bigger voice in media regarding women’s issues. I think that female readers would benefit from a woman’s opinion on these issues. I’m not sure if I like this male dominated perspective about issues that really don’t affect them.  So do you all agree?

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2012/05/31/men-rule-media-coverage-of-women-s-news.html

