Girls Beat up Muslim Man over Insult

8 Oct

Image

http://www.cnn.com/2012/09/20/world/meast/iran-hijab-fisticuffs/index.html

It’s no secret that Muslim women in the Middle East are expected to dress modestly, ideally by wearing a hijab. Religious expectation in the region has become a cultural and sometimes even governmental mandate.

I found a story of two girls who fought back (violently) against the cultural norm. In Iran, two girls were walking when a Muslim cleric insulted one girl and told her to cover herself up. The girl told him to cover his eyes. He repeated his insult and told her to cover up.

What did they do? They beat him up.

The cleric had to be taken to the hospital. After he was let out, he decided not to press charges. He believes that the girls beating him up only helps the ’cause of the Islamic hijab.’

As wrong as it is, I was really happy these girls stood up for themselves, even if it was violently. I can’t imagine living in a society were I would be verbally abused for dressing the way I do. These were obviously girls who were done with the oppression and intolerance they faced, and their patience broke.

I hope that they are safe and that fundamentalist groups do not lash out against them and their families. Hopefully, Iran will view this as a funny isolated incident. Meanwhile, I am proud of their bravery and hope they channel it in a less violent way in the future. 🙂

One Response to “Girls Beat up Muslim Man over Insult”

  1. karaleesmith October 10, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    I enjoyed this blog post. I read a book about the veiling of women in Cairo and they faced the same issues. They wear the veil to protect themselves in public and to be viewed as respectable women. But this is the 21st Century and if women have to cover their bodies not out of choice but out of fear, I believe this is a controversial issue. I smiled that women were brave enough to take a stand on the issue of oppression (even if they have to get a little violent).

Comments are closed.

