Sandusky Sentenced

9 Oct

Image

Jerry Sandusky the former widely regarded assistant coach for the Penn State football team was sentenced today by a judge to “no less than 30 years and no more than 60 years.”  The conviction was based off of child sexual assault charges. Sandusky’s attorneys have 10 days to appeal the conviction. 

Have you been following this since it started?

What are you thoughts about the sentencing?

What do you think about how the University handled this situation?

2 Responses to “Sandusky Sentenced”

  1. kjbaker24 October 9, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    I’ve followed it from the beginning and as soon as the news broke I was on my Twitter along with everyone else and discussed it. As far as the sentencing goes, it may seem like a strange time gap for 30-60 years but considering he’s 68, this is pretty much a life sentence. I did hear that his lawyers were trying to appeal already though so we’ll see how it holds. As for the University, I think they panicked. Maybe they did to much, but it’s better than doing too little.

  2. cassiedebolt October 9, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    I followed it but not very in depth. 30-60 years seems very odd to me. It’s a huge time frame and it is a life sentence sure but I feel like sentence like this could be used to send a message that his actions are not appropriate. Say they sentence him to 60 years v 30 years. Either way, he is serving a life sentence but it sets precedent for other cases no matter which they choose.

Comments are closed.

