Trending: “IncestFest”

11 Oct

Recently, we have been discussing incest in my Family Law class; in light of that, I decided to search for an article concerning that unsettling topic. Initially, I was hoping to find some disgusting, soap opera- like story to entertain all of us, but I found something else, and I found it to be much more thought provoking.

 

I came across an article written for the Harvard Crimson, addressing the title “IncestFest,” meant to describe the existence of very close communities, or houses. The author of this opinion, Samantha Berstiler, does not approve of throwing the word “incest” around when the reality of this word is terrifying and should be respected.

 

http://www.thecrimson.com/article/2012/10/9/berstler-incest/         If you’d like to read the article.

 

This made me think of several other relate able topics, which today receive little respect. Interestingly enough, all the topics generally have something to do with sex, whether it be incest, rape, or intercourse. Honestly, I do not know why this is. Why has sex become blase´? I realize that we are living in a sexual generation where sex, particularly before marriage, is more accepted and honestly, I think, assumed. But when did sex leave the realm of sensuality and seriousness and step through the threshold of hilarity?

 

Phrases such as “that’s what SHE said!” and  “under the sheets” are prevalent in everyday conversation, and it is not just among high school students and college students. I hear snickers for these comments from older adults.

 

Do you think sex is funny? If so, why? Does the joking make one perceive it in a less significant light?

2 Responses to “Trending: “IncestFest””

  1. brittanyposey22 October 12, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

    I think that the fact the we joke so much about sex means that our society has become desensitized to it in a way. I think that this is a good way in one sense. Sex is not a taboo topic that no one talks about anymore. This shows that we have advanced in our sexual revolution. People are not afraid of the topic anymore. However, I think that it is bad in the sense that young people do not think sex is that big of a deal anymore. I don’t really like that young children are learning about sex at such a young age. People under 12 know and talk about sex. This is just a little inappropriate to me. These kids are becoming sexual at a much earlier age and it is leading to a growing number of teen pregnancies. Young people are not thinking about the gravity of becoming sexually active.

  2. clairekochmer October 12, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    I agree with Brittany, in that we have become more desensitized to sex. To me, the fact that rape has become a subject that people joke about is a bit scary. I think when we as members of society laugh at rape jokes, or ignore them, it makes rape seem less serious. Although I won’t go as far to say that rape jokes make people believe that it is okay, I think that rape jokes remove the gravity of the situation. I don’t think rape is ever something to laugh about, and I’m guessing I’m not the only one. I think that they are just another element that contribute to victims being fearful of reporting their attack. I think rape jokes desensitize us to the reality of rape. I think that it is hard enough for those who are victims of rape to feel safe enough to report it, or tell someone.

Comments are closed.

