When Read in this Order…

11 Oct

I’m sitting at the desk, just now in DeHority, reading the articles given to us yesterday. 
As I try to focus, despite the screaming vacuum surrounding me, I begin with 
14-year-old girl wins Pakistan’s first peace prize- CNN.com and as I’m reading I think
about 1) The comment made about television is interesting. It is the polar opposite of the 
United States where children are nagged to not watch TV but study instead. 2) I wished the 
article would expand on what contributed to her receiving the award. 3) The article seemed 
unrealistic– perhaps because Pakistan chose a child/ GIRL.

I then picked up the next article Taliban attack wounds teen activist blogger- CCN.com. Once 
I started this article and realized it was about the same girl, my reactions continued: 4) I felt this deep
sadness and disgust at what had happened to her, but 5) It seemed like real life.Unfortunately. 

