“The Choice on Choice”

12 Oct

President Obama posted this on his twitter earlier and it got me thinking about about the fact that birth control and abortion are still major issues in American politics. It’s 30 years later and Roe v. Wade is still controversial! In our modern society I think this is just ludicrous! No matter my own personal views on abortion, I think that we live in a democratic society and we should not impose our own views on everyone. Not everyone in America is religious or against abortion. They should have the right to choose! Furthermore, I’m tired of these social issues being at the top of political agenda when we should be focusing on fixing the economy! I’m trying to give Romney and Ryan a fair chance and really consider their policies and plans. However, it’s things like this that just affirm that I am supporting the right candidates. What are your thoughts on this? Should these social issues be a major topic of discussion?

2 Responses to ““The Choice on Choice””

  1. clairekochmer October 12, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

    I agree with you in that we need to be focusing on the economy, and that is one of the most pressing issues we are facing right now in our country. I do think that we still need to pay attention to social issues. I am afraid that if we ignore issues like Roe v. Wade people will forget how important it is to continue to fight for it. I think it will lessen awareness to those who do not keep up with politics.

  2. Beth Mathavich October 14, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    I try to be open minded and keep my comments to myself because i know that most people do not agree with me. However, when it comes to abortion, it is something that I am truly passionate about. In my personal opinion, I don’t think that abortion is ever okay. I believe that if an individual is old enough to make the decision to be sexually active then they are old enough to be responsible for the outcome that could possibly happen. It’s no surprise where babies come from, and it’s not fair to that unborn child to have life taken away from them. This is my personal opinion, and I know that others have different views than me and I respect that. That was my little rant, and I do agree with you that the economy is a pressing matter. These social issues do need to be addressed, but the economy is an issue that everyone can agree on.

Comments are closed.

