Women are Worry Warts…..

14 Oct

After reading an article in Time magazine about how women produce more stress when reading bad news, I realized how stereotypical it was. Scientists found that women stress levels did not alter while receiving the bad news but the stories made them more reactive to stressful situations afterwards. The magazine claims the reasoning behind the stress levels was because the lead author Marie-France Marin says “it could be that they carry the [emotional] load longer than men, which could also influence their memory.”

The article goes on warning women to be aware of what type of news they are reading because it will affect their mood. Unfortunately, this is not a joke and Time magazine gives women advice on how to handle “stressful news:” “For women, perhaps recognizing that they may be particularly vulnerable to news-related stress could help them lessen the burden by simply being mindful of the potential effect of mass media, or by engaging in coping mechanisms like meditation and exercise.”

Even if the study is valid, their generalization that women should maybe exercise to deal with reading bad news is outrageous. I don’t know about you but I read news throughout the day, hard and soft news, and my mood is not affected. But after reading this Time article I might need to go do some yoga to deal with the stress, since according to Time I am not man enough.

you can check out the article HERE

2 Responses to “Women are Worry Warts…..”

  1. cassiedebolt October 15, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    I’m the same way. I read the news all the time and I rarely let it affect my life. What’s the point? Just because someone in another country or state did something stupid or bad doesn’t have any bearing on my immediate life and I have enough to worry about without being stressed about that. I don’t go into a class and overreact to a situation because “so and so in such a country did this horrible thing today”.

  2. jcjohnson3 October 15, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Wow…. are women really that fragile?!? I really thought the idea that women were too frail too handle difficult or bad news was archaic and that we have moved on past being called ‘the gentle sex.’

    Being a woman doesn’t mean you can’t handle news stories and move on with your day. That’s the kind of thinking that could lead to the argument that women can’t be in leadership or power positions, because their hormones might get in the way.

Comments are closed.

