Amanda Todd’s Silent Story

15 Oct

After class today, I was really thinking about what the video had presented, so I wanted to look at the media and see what was on there today. I went to CNN, an accredited news source, and I was scrolling down the page when I came to a link leading me to this:

http://www.cnn.com/2012/10/12/world/americas/canada-teen-bullying/index.html?hpt=hp_t3

This article is about a girl who killed herself after posting a incredibly haunting video on youtube.
I then proceeded to look up the video:  

If you find time, watch the video. I thought this provided a powerful example of where the media can lead young girls.
Amanda Todd felt pressure to be sexually appealing to a male and that was where her downfall began.

2 Responses to “Amanda Todd’s Silent Story”

  1. Samantha Ellison October 23, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    I saw this video the first day it came out and it sadden me beyond belief that people couldn’t help this young girl.

  2. cassiedebolt October 24, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    I’d read the story about this video but never watched it. It’s so sad to see that someone could go through something like that. What struck me the most about this video is the kids who are actually saying and doing things like that. It seems like all fun and games now, but they have to live with the guilt that their actions caused someone to take their own life. I am beyond proud that she had the courage to share her story and tell exactly what lead to where she was when the video was made.

Comments are closed.

