why…

17 Oct

A new online campaign from MoveOn.org which asks a valid question.  But why the nudity?  What do you think?  Does the nudity detract from the message?  Read Sarah Devlin’s take.

 

6 Responses to “why…”

  1. taylerworkman October 17, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    The nudity didn’t distract me, surprisingly. After reading the description of the video I really expected it to. I still feel like it was unnecessary for the video. Maybe they were trying to emphasize the “my body”, but it could have been done just as easily with clothed women.

  2. shaybrandon October 18, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    i agree. i think that it was just to emphasize the “my body” part of the message. i wasn’t distracted by it, but it was not that necessary.

  3. emilyrodriguez3 October 19, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    PeTA, anyone? http://www.peta.org/action/rather-go-naked.aspx

    I don’t have a problem with nudity, but I do have a problem with laziness in advertising. They are using the female body because their message isn’t strong enough, or they can’t think of another way to say it.

  4. brittanyposey22 October 19, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    I agree that they are probably trying to emphasize “the body.” However, I think they might also trying to go for the shock factor related to nudity to get people to listen to their message. I personally don’t think it was necessary though.

  5. clairekochmer October 21, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    I don’t think that the nudity was distracting, nor did I find it necessary. I don’t really think that it went along with the message all that well though. I was connected to the message because it is a topic that interests me, but I don’t think that it would connect very well to those who are not interested in women’s issues.

  6. lisaanneryan October 21, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    While I don’t feel that it was necessary, I can see why they chose to do it. It added to the message of my body and felt empowering. These were average women standing up for what they believe, and weren’t ashamed of their bodies. If they had used models to sell their message in a sexual way, then that would have been inappropriate.

Comments are closed.

