Advice from The Little Mermaid

21 Oct

While I love Disney princesses, I will admit there are some major issues with them. This video brings up great points on the messages children can get from watching the movies. Since this class, I have realized that there are very few positive female role models for both children and adults. I think awareness of some of the hidden messages within the media is the first step to changing things.

One Response to “Advice from The Little Mermaid”

  1. Samantha Ellison October 23, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    This is something that I find very interesting to talk about. What do you think about these kind of role models for young girls? Is Disney getting better at making more diverse and strong female characters or are the characters pretty much staying the same?

Comments are closed.

