Senate candidates asked about 50 Shades during debate

21 Oct

Senate candidates asked about 50 Shades during debate

During a political debate, two female candidates running to represent New York in the U.S. Senate were asked if they had read 50 Shades of Grey. I don’t see how this is relevant in any way to the race. I can’t believe the female moderator even asked the question. Both candidates answered no, but personally I think they should have ignored it. I think they should have pointed out how ridiculous it was and moved on to an actual question. I am disappointed that after how far we have come, when we have two women running for the U.S. Senate, they still can’t be taken seriously.

3 Responses to “Senate candidates asked about 50 Shades during debate”

  1. jennifer ludy grove October 22, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    I honestly think I’m going to barf. How insulting. So glad you shared this.

  2. jcjohnson3 October 24, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    When I read this, I was very insulted. These are serious women vying for a powerful position, but the moderator thinks ‘What the voters really want to know is which one of them is into S&M.” Seriously?
    The typical insulting question to female politicians is how they expect to raise their children and hold office. I think this question went beyond that and crossed way more lines.

  3. Darren Wheeler October 26, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    Almost twenty years ago we asked boxers or briefs? 😉

Comments are closed.

