What are acceptable Halloween costumes?

29 Oct

In the spirit of Halloween I felt that this was only fitting. I remembered last year seeing an ad about what kinds of Halloween costumes are offensive. In particular those that portrayed certain cultures in a less than flattering manner. They used the slogan “We’re a culture, not a costume.” How do you feel about this? Where do we draw the line on what makes a clever costume and what may offend someone more than we realize?

One Response to “What are acceptable Halloween costumes?”

  1. cassiedebolt October 30, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    I don’t really know if this is the kind of offense you were thinking but I am personally offended by girls dressing in very little clothing because “it’s halloween”. I do not want to see that much of you and it makes everyone that wants to stay a little covered up look like an outcast. I find it a huge step in the wrong direction for that one weekend when women use sex appeal and objectify themselves just because they can.

Comments are closed.

