Sexy Breast Cancer Campaign..?

31 Oct

As everyone knows, Breast Cancer is a serious disease. Lately there seems to be more and more campaigns that make light of it by being funny or trying to make it “sexy”. This article shows how the Susan G. Kolman foundation feels about these new campaigns.

I admit that I find the slogan “Save Second Base” to be humorous but I never stopped to think about how someone with Breast Cancer might view it. Should Breast Cancer be taken more seriously or should there be some humor in the situation?

3 Responses to “Sexy Breast Cancer Campaign..?”

  1. taylerworkman November 1, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    I think that breast cancer should definitely be taken more seriously. Yeah, the “I love boobies” shirts are funny, but it’s a serious cause and I think people are making light of it when they wear things like that.

  2. maliakmanor November 1, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    There definitely should be some trace of “sexy” in breast cancer. I do not think it should ever be sexualized, but the strength of these women alone is sexy. I have never experienced this devestating disease; however, I have read different accounts where the woman is dealing, or has dealt, with breast cancer, and this is something they, as women, emphasize. Junior year I performed, for the speech team, Susan Miller’s story: “My Left Breast,” urging women, specifically those of the breast cancer community, to remember that they are still sexy.

    Do you think having a disease that affects a main aspect of a woman’s sexuality makes them feel less feminine or less attractive?

    • shaybrandon November 2, 2012 at 8:52 am #

      I do think that it affects the way women view their sexuality. It is affecting a big part of what makes us women. I agree that is should be seen as sexy but not in a objectifying way.

Comments are closed.

