Rally for Women 2012

4 Nov

Rally for Women 2012

I went to Rally for Women 2012 in order to meet Shelli Yoder, the candidate I chose to follow, and other female candidates and politicians. Yoder is running to represent the 9th Congressional District.

During the event, Judy O’Bannon spoke to the audience, encouraging everyone to vote for Yoder because she is the best candidate. But some of her comments were not about Yoder’s issues and instead about her appearance, which I thought was inappropriate. While O’Bannon was trying to compliment Yoder, I still found it unsettling that superficial features were being discussed at a rally for women’s empowerment. O’Bannon called the candidate a “knockout,” saying it was clear that spending all her time campaigning had not caused Yoder to gain a pound.

Do you think I am wrong to be upset by these comments? Clearly they are meant to be nice, but personally I think it diminishes the candidate and her issues. I don’t think Yoder is running to look pretty, I think she and other female candidates are running because they think they are the best candidates with the best solutions.

4 Responses to “Rally for Women 2012”

  1. jcjohnson3 November 4, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    I’m kind of offended to. A woman was promoting Yoder by pointing out her weight? Is that all women care about?!? I get that it’s supposed to be a compliment, but if I were Yoder I would rather be complimented on my ambition, intelligence, and vision for the office I’m seeking. I’d expect appearance compliments from a male commentator, it’s just disappointing that it came from a woman.

  2. Samantha Ellison November 4, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    Thanks for posting this. Glad you got to witness such a great event for Yoder. I am not surprised by the comments about her physical appearance and agree with you that it takes attention away from Yoder’s actual issues.

  3. Jamie Dash November 29, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    I also agree that I am not surprised to see that they were commenting about her physical appearance I feel like this was the same thing when Sarah Palin was in the spot light with her wardrobe and taste in fashion.. it shouldn’t be about style or looks but the message the candidates are sharing with the public

  4. jldash November 29, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    I agree I am not surprised about the comments about her physical appearance and do think that it demeans here in a sense because it is not her views that capture the peoples attention but her looks. It reminds me when Sarah Palin was campaigning wearing designer name tailor suits that had the people talking which takes away the main focus of the issues being brought up.. I really enjoyed your post!

Comments are closed.

