Proud to be a woman because behind every great man is an even greater woman

6 Nov

Proud to be a woman because behind every great man is an even greater woman

Who am I?

My name is Lisa Ryan and I am a junior studying telecommunications news and political science. I report for WCRD News, the Daily News and Newslink Indiana. I hope to be a political reporter for a major news organization and possibly run for office one day.

Why am I proud to be a woman?

I am proud to be a woman because who runs the world? Girls! Yes, this is a song, but it is true because we can have it all. Women now have power over their own lives and the lives of those they can affect. Whether they have chosen to have a family, be a business leader, political leader or all three, women have control over their world. Even with the majority of our government representatives being men, they are greatly influenced by women, whether those women are his wife, daughter and mother or whether it is a women’s rights lobbyist. That is why behind every great man, there is an even greater woman!

What are my future aspirations?

My future aspirations of being a political reporter and possibly a politician guide me through school. I hope to learn something new every day and continue to be open-minded to new ideas. I refuse to accept ignorance of any issue. If there is something I don’t understand, I hope to read and learn and discover everything about it. I hope to be a role model to young women and myself. If I can be the woman I want to be then I will be happy no matter what I am doing. I hope to be a leader, whether by title or by character. I want to fight the stereotype that women in the news media have to dress sexy or dumb themselves down in order to gain mass appeal. I will always have respect for myself and hopefully by doing so, bring respect to all women.

Who is my favorite female candidate?

My favorite female political candidate is Glenda Ritz running for Superintendent of Public Instruction. Her energy and enthusiasm is contagious, and she seems to have a genuine concern for the future of education and the students her policies would affect. It’s great to see a person who has been working in education so long who has not lost hope and who wants to continue to make our state the best it can be. I hope that no matter what I am doing, I can be as excited as Ritz and gain supporters through my passion for beliefs as she does.

What do I hope to change in the world and what have I learned from this class?

I hope to change the idea that women have to work twice as hard as men in order to gain the same respect. I would like to see women earning the same income as men for the same work. Even in 2012, we still have not reached full equality, and I did not realize that before this class. After this class, I hope to continue to be aware of inequality and one day work to change it.

One Response to “Proud to be a woman because behind every great man is an even greater woman”

  1. jennifer ludy grove November 6, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    Fabulous!

Comments are closed.

