Proud to be a woman…

6 Nov

…Because women are Phenomenal.

I am Jennifer, and I am proud to be a member of the political science faculty at Ball State University.  And it’s been my honor this semester to teach Women and Politics, surrounded by some of the most phenomenal young women it’s been my pleasure to know.  I have learned much from them, and I look forward to watching them accomplish their dreams.  Who am I?  I am an Air Force brat.  I am a Meema to the cutest grandkids ever.  I love to read.  I love to cook.  I love the Chicago Bears.

Q: Why are you proud to be a woman?

I am proud to be a woman because women can be all things.  Strong and soft.  Stoic and emotional.  Drop dead gorgeous and kick ass smart.  We raise our daughters to be everything they dream to be and we teach our sons what it truly means to be men.  After all, Ginger Rogers did everything Fred Astaire did, only she did it backwards and in heels.

Q:  What does the future of women in politics look like?

The future looks brighter than ever before in my life.   Between the historic numbers of women on the 2012 ballot and the numbers of young women recognizing that decisions that directly impact their lives can and should be made by legislative bodies that more accurately represent them, I do expect more women to run for office and an increased activism to elect these women to office.

Q:  If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be and why?

A return to civility.  We have forgotten what it means to have respect for each other, and our children are watching.

