I am PROUD to be a woman…

7 Nov

My name is Karalee Smith and a junior at Ball State University. I am majoring in Telecommunications-News Track Journalism with a minor in Political Science.  I also have interest public relations and worked as a marketing intern this summer at the Hamilton County Convention & Visitors Bureau in Carmel, Ind.

I am proud to be a woman because I can be self-sufficient. Shockingly, I can do it on my own. No, I don’t need someone to hold my hand and walk me through life. I can rely on myself to be financially stable, earn a college degree and achieve my goals. I’m blessed to live among other independent women. These are the self-dependent women who are the breadwinners, the Olympic goal medalists, and the State Representatives. I am damn proud to be a woman.

Q: If I could change one thing in the world…

Unfortunately the world is not a perfect place and there are multiple shortcomings of people’s behavior. Although if I could alter one aspect it would be for people to be  open-minded. Our society can be so ignorant with stereotypes, racism and hatred. People need to realize everyone has their own belief and opinion and it should be respected. Our society needs to remove themselves from their shoes and step in a fresh pair. A fresh perspective.

Q: What is one thing you have learned from this course so far?

This course has been excellent: filled with vibrant discussions, new viewpoints and opinions. One aspect that I learned from this course is that women have made great strides in equality, but I never realized how much ground we still need to cover. The course taught me the strategies the women’s suffrage movement used to gain the right to vote in 1920 and how women have climbed the political ladder, yet we are still not equals. The film Miss Representation opened my eyes to how little of a voice women have in politics. Women make up 51 percent of the United States, yet there are only 17 women out of 100 in the Senate. Also from our blog I learned from a peer, Cassie, women only make up 3.8 percent of CEOs in America. So as a journalist I hope to be the voice of the voiceless and the misrepresented. A voice for the women. Alice Paul and Lucy Burns would thrust picket signs in the air and my weapon will be a pen and paper.

