I am proud to be a woman because…

7 Nov

Image

Hey guys! I’m Jessica Johnson, a junior legal studies major. Once I graduate I’m planning on being a paralegal for a few years and then hopefully going to law school. I’m passionate about politics, self-expression, and celebrating holidays. As soon as October came I was already planning out my Christmas shopping. 🙂

I am hoping that being involved in the legal field will give me the opportunity to do something good… either by defending clients or becoming active in local politics. Either way, I’m excited to see where life leads me. 

Why are you proud to be a woman?

Being a woman is a deep part of my identity. Being in this class expanded my view of womanhood from exposing me to the wonderful feminists who came before me.

If you could change one thing in the world what would it be and why?

Honestly, it would be the view that certain men have of women. There are men who view women as objects, and that leads to the oppression that still exists in society today. This oppression is justified as men trying to protect women or to respect them, and some women accept that. Really, it leads to institutionalized discrimination like preventing young women from going to school, revealing their faces, or driving a car. In American society the oppression exists in limiting reproductive rights or judging a woman’s worth on her sexual appeal. I believe women have to fight for the rights of ALL women, personal liberties should never be limited through legislation, here or around the world.

What does the future of women in politics look like?

Watching so many women get elected last night was inspiring to me. Women have made so many political advances throughout the world, but for some reason had dragged in the US. Last night gave me hope that someday the amount of women in Congress will finally match the demographic makeup of the country. With the growing acceptance of respected women in politics, I believe I’ll see a female president in my lifetime. 🙂

One Response to “I am proud to be a woman because…”

  1. maliakmanor November 8, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    I am with you on the Christmas present front. I love planning it out! 🙂

Comments are closed.

