I’m proud to be a feminist because…

7 Nov

Image

My name is Claire and I am studying Political Science and Communications at Ball State University.  I have been an intern with the Indiana Democratic Party since January, and I’ve loved every minute of it.

What are your future goals and aspirations?

After I graduate from Ball State, I want to earn a graduate degree in Communications, and I want to focus on feminism and media.  I want to focus on women in the media, more specifically female comediennes.  I want to analyze the impact that humor has on the television industry and on society as a whole.  I eventually want to become a professor, and teach communications at the university level.

If I could change one thing in the world…

That’s a tough question because there are many things I would like to change in the world, but in relation to this class- one thing in the world I would like to change is the negative perception of feminists/feminism.  There are so many negative terms/words/images that come to people’s mind when the word feminism is used, and most of these things are brought on by a stereotype that was created in the 1960’s.  Many people believe that if you are a feminist that you are a radical, and that you have short hair, and dress in men’s clothing.  This is not the case.  In this third wave of feminism, feminists are encouraged and encourage others to be themselves.  If you want to wear  pink and glitter and bows in your hair, you can.  If you want to wear men’s clothing and have short hair, you can.  If you would like to combine all of these elements, you can!  This is what I love about feminism.  Don’t get me wrong, feminism isn’t all about clothing.  Feminism strives to break down stereotypes about women and men.  Feminism fights the hegemonic ideas about gender that we have learned from our culture.  I want more people to understand that feminism is not only good for women, but it is also good for men, and members of the LGBT community.  Feminism is not just for girls, it is not just for lesbians, it is for anyone who believes that every person has a right to be themselves.

