Jezebel cracking down on racist tweets.

12 Nov

In this post on Jezebel.com, they discuss the abundance of racist tweet that were posted in the Twitter-sphere on Election night.  The employees of the website collected a large number of student’s information from their public Twitter accounts, and proceeded to contact these student’s schools.  Although, they didn’t get a hold of all of the schools, many of these Twitter accounts were closed.  

On Wednesday after the election, I was surprised by how many new stories there were about racist social networking going on during election night.  Although I am fully aware that racism still exists, I thought that we had grown as a society since the 1960’s.  I was sorely misinformed.  I wonder though, do you think that shaming these individuals will really make a difference in their opinion, or if it will make them rethink their racism?  I don’t know how effective of a method I believe this is?  How do you think these individuals should be addressed?

One Response to “Jezebel cracking down on racist tweets.”

  1. shaybrandon November 13, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Honestly I think that calling out the students for their racism is the best way to go. I’m not sure if it will change the way that the student personally thinks but it will change what they put on their social media.

Comments are closed.

