Stupid Girls

12 Nov

This song came out right around the time when Paris Hilton and Jessica Simpson were really popular (think “is this chicken or fish?” comment). I love how P!nk is advocating not being like all the women who think they need to show skin or not eat in order to be pretty. The ending shows the little girl choosing to play football, which is especially relevant after the Title IX video we watched today.

3 Responses to “Stupid Girls”

  1. cassiedebolt November 13, 2012 at 4:55 am #

    I absolutely love this video and this song. I think there needs to be more women advocating for young girls to make decisions not to be “stupid girls”.

  2. shaybrandon November 13, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    I really like the “girl power” vibe of P!nk’s music. This is one of my favorite songs that she does and I think that it has a very good message: you don’t have to be a “stupid girl” to get anyone’s attention but especially a guy’s attention.

  3. clairekochmer November 14, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    I love the message of this video as well. I think it was also interesting taht after this song, the media painted P!nk as jealous of all these other celebrities because she doesn’t look like their depiction of “feminine”. The media completely turned the message around and missed the mark. P!nk is clearly not jealous, she was saying just the opposite, and trying to get a different message, and I find it so annoying that it always comes back to women being pinned as jealous of each other.

Comments are closed.

