Why I Love Amy Poehler <3

12 Nov

In class, we have talked a lot about the portrayal of women and men in television, and the affects this has on our culture.  I think that as time is progressing, shows have definitely been moving in a good direction, but when I think about my favorite shows I feel like they never completely get away from stereotypes about men and women.  Modern Family is an example I have discussed in my Media and Pop Culture class often because it is popular, and it has started to get away from “normal” in the way that it has a gay family on the show, but the couple is still male and they are both white.  This is just one example, and there are plenty more.  (I love Modern Family, by the way)  One show that I feel has really broken barriers in relation to gender stereotypes is Parks and Recreation.  The lead character, Leslie Knope, is funny, relatable, has positive relationships with other females, gets along with her coworkers, is hard working, and is someone that everyone wants to be around.  Leslie does has a stereotypical personality for a woman in this show, but the show doesn’t make these qualities in her seem bad.  The show embraces Leslie’s extreme type A personality, and shows how it has lead her to be such a great worker for the people of Pawnee.  There are plenty of other ways this show defies traditional television relationships.  Take Leslie’s relationship with her best friend Ann Perkins.  I think that it is hard to find a friendship in television that is relatable and realistic.  Many female relationships on television are unequal, focused on their relationships with men, centered around jealousy, or other negative stereotypes of women.  Leslie and Ann’s relationship is balanced.  They give each other positive advice, they encourage each other when they are successful, and they comfort each other when something in their life goes wrong.    I could go on for days because I love this show.  This show was created in part by Amy Poehler, who has also written and directed episodes.  I am so glad more and more women like Amy Poehler are finally getting attention in Television because I think the more women we have creating, writing, directing these shows, the more positive role models there will be for young girls and boys in television.

One Response to “Why I Love Amy Poehler <3”

  1. lisaanneryan November 12, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    I agree! As a woman living in Indiana who wants to get involved in politics, I love Leslie Knope and admire her tenacity. There are many episodes that show her encountering a problem and then solving it by being smart and awesome. I love your insight about Ann and Leslie’s friendship. I never thought about it, but it’s great to see two women who are focused on each other and their careers rather than their relationships with men. I love seeing a drama-free friendship where two women encourage each other to succeed.

Comments are closed.

