Condescending World

14 Nov

We discussed THIS in class today and I said I would post it because it was something that hit close to home in a way. I feel like I’m always getting talked down to or having something explained to me in a different “dumbed down” version. I constantly feel like I am sticking up for myself and my ability to have an intellectual conversation without things having to be explained to me.

I was happy to see Tammy Baldwin stand up for herself. When Senator Ron Johnson tried to demean Baldwin, she shot back, “I was a double major in college in mathematics and political science, and I served for six years on the House Budget Committee in my first six years in the House.”

One Response to “Condescending World”

  1. runesandrhinestones November 15, 2012 at 5:36 am #

    I get talked down to sometimes, and it really gets to me. Sometimes I don’t understand something, and then I get shocked looks, but other times I already know my subject and get patronised and then I want to punch things. And then I get told to calm down, because women aren’t supposed to be angry.

Comments are closed.

