Marriage as a game?

19 Nov

On pinterest today I saw a shirt that made me wonder and I was a little offended. It made me think about the idea of marriage and what is means to get married today. The shirt below portrays a groom as an object out for catching and I couldn’t help but wonder if that is what marriage has become. Are we so obsessed with getting married and finding our prince charming that it’s considered a game?

There is also a shirt for men (usually) that has a bride and groom with GAME OVER under it. Even for men, marriage is considered a game and something they should attempt to get or avoid. Where has the idea of marriage gone out the window to the point where we consider it game?

2 Responses to “Marriage as a game?”

  1. Beth Mathavich November 19, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    I’m not really sure the bottom one is considering marriage a game. The groom has a frown on his face which I assume is trying to depict that his life is basically over because he got married. Either way, I would probably punch a guy in the face if I saw him wearing it.

  2. Darren Wheeler November 27, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    I get the impression that these shirts are more about the process that leads up to marriage than marriage itself. I also think that’s a process that does have many “game-like” qualities to it. Finding the right one can be pretty hard (I didn’t get married until I was 33) so I’m happy I don’t have to play “the game” any more.

Comments are closed.

