War Against Men..?

27 Nov

Image

A friend of mine posted this on Facebook and I thought that it would be good to share. The War On Men written by Suzanne Venker for FoxNews.Com is basically claiming that women are the reason that men do not want to get married. Because women want to have careers and have equal rights, they are causing men to feel inadequate.

This article was written by a woman no less and claims that feminism has hindered the one thing that all women want: to get married. Since women let men sleep with them whenever they want and live with them with out being married, men do not see the point in getting married.

Personally I think that this is a load of codswallop  but what does everyone else think? Does this go against what we have learned in class? Or does it just reaffirm how the media perceives women?

9 Responses to “War Against Men..?”

  1. notimetomakethedonuts November 27, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    All women want to get married? That’s where the article first goes wrong. Not all women do.

    Secondly, I find it insulting that to get this magical contract, women should go back to have no goals or aspirations other than catering to a man and taking care of children.
    Why is it that women should go back instead of men going forward? If there are men out there who don’t want to get married unless they get a maid/nanny/sexbot for a wife, so what? There are plenty of men out there who have better expectations than that. I refuse to think or believe that being married to a neanderthal is better than being alone.

    • shaybrandon November 27, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

      I agree. Not all women want to get married, I know that it is not my ultimate goal. I want to be married but it will not kill me if it does not happen.

  2. karaleesmith November 27, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    After reading the article “The War on Men” I couldn’t help but giggle. I agree with the findings that more women want to get married, yet I do not agree with the statement “women are not women anymore.” First off what the hell does that mean? That women are no longer in the kitchen, but the now are breadwinners. The author claims that women are taught to be angry with men and to take them down, yet is the female author afraid that women are no longer subordinate, but are making progress to becoming equal.

    • shaybrandon November 27, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

      I agree with you. Part of me wonders if this was written by a woman who does not have a career and wants to put down the women who do. I thought this article was comical in how sexist it was.

  3. cassiedebolt November 27, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    I talked my fiance about this and he flat out said “I would not be marrying you if you weren’t going to have the job you want and reach your goals”. Despite knowing that I may make more money than him and he will have to take on more parental responsibilities, he doesn’t feel inadequate. I could not be a “typical woman” by this article’s standards and not all men expect you to be.

    • shaybrandon November 27, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

      It is defiantly making me think that I don’t want a guy who thinks this way. If he can’t support your goals what is the point of getting married? Your fiance is awesome, Cassie!!!

      • cassiedebolt November 28, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

        Aw I know. I’ve wondered why people marry someone that isn’t going to fully support everything they do. Why should I be expected to support things you do but you don’t support me?

  4. Michael December 4, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    I TYPE IN CAPS BECAUSE I HAVE DIFFICULTY SEEING…I COME IN PEACE…THE TONE OF MY EMAIL IS FRIENDLY AND I AM AFFECTIONATELY SMILING AND A BIT SADDENED BY THE MISUNDERSTANDINGS BUT I FEEL YOU HAVE ALL COMPLETELY MISSED THE ENTIRE POINT OF THE ARTICLE DUE TO YOUR FRUSTRATION AND CONFUSION OVER HOW MEN ARE/WERE RAISED. WE WEREN’T TAUGHT TO BE HUNTER/GATHERERS AND WOMEN NESTMAKER/HOMEMAKERS OUT OF HATRED AND DEEP ROOTED DESIRE FOR THE BELITTLEMENT OF WOMEN!!! WE LOVE WOMEN, WE EXPRESS LOVE DIFFERENTLY…IT IS HOW WE WERE TAUGHT TO LOVE…IT IS OUR LOVE LANGUAGE TO PROVIDE. WHEN YOU TAKE AWAY OUR MEANS TO PROVIDE AND FIND VALIDATION IT MAKES US FEEL USELESS AND LEFT WONDERING…WELL? WHAT DO I DO NOW? WHY DO WOMEN WANT TO BE LIKE MEN? TO DRESS LIKE MEN? TO SPEAK LIKE MEN? WHY DO YOU TAKE IT PERSONALLY IF A MAN WANTED TO PROVIDE FOR YOU? WHY DO THINK THAT IS OFFENSIVE? I WAS RAISED AND TAUGHT IT WAS HONORABLE AND NOBLE. I DIDN’T AND NEVER LOOKED AT WOMEN AS WEAK OR INFERIOR IF THEY STAYED AT HOME TO RAISE A FAMILY. I BELIEVE IN EQUAL PAY FOR EQUAL WORK. I HAVE VOTED IN FAVOR OF WOMEN’S RIGHTS, GAYS RIGHTS, ANIMAL RIGHTS. I HAVE NEVER ABUSED ANY OF THE ABOVE MENTIONED EITHER…YET I AM BEING BLAMED FOR WHAT DEAD MEN FROM HUNDREDS OF YEARS AGO HAVE COMMITTED. OR BY WHAT THE MEDIA SAYS TO CREATE CONFLICT IN HOPES YOU SIT AROUND LONG ENOUGH TO GET PERSUADED BY THE COMMERCIALS. YOU FEEL ENTITLED TO YOUR ANGER AS A FORM OF POWER AND IT’S ALL A MISUNDERSTANDING. I HAVE DATED WOMEN WHO BLAME ME FOR NOT MAKING ENOUGH MONEY AS THEM…WHAT SHOULD I DO? KILL SOMEONE FOR A JOB? PERHAPS YOU’RE ALL KINDER AND MORE UNDERSTANDING THAN THE WOMEN I’VE DATED I DON’T KNOW…BUT THERE IS TRUTH TO THAT ARTICLE TOO. THE AUTHOR OF THAT ARTICLE IS FAR FROM BEING SOME WOMAN VICTIMIZED BY A MAN. SHE IS HIGHLY QUALIFIED AND I WILL BET MY LIFE AGAINST YOURS SHE HAS PLENTY OF MALE SUPPORT. I AM DEEPLY SORRY ABOUT THE CONFUSION. I WAS RAISED ENVISIONING MYSELF A KNIGHT, A WARRIOR, A LOVING AND LEADING MAN WHO IS TO LEAD IN SERVING THE WOMAN HE LOVED IN THE WAY HE KNEW HOW, AND SHE WOULD RECIPROCATE THAT TO HIM. I AM DEEPLY SORRY BUT I WILL NOT ALLOW THE ECONOMY CAUSE HATRED ANY LONGER. NOR WILL I ALLOW MISUNDERSTANDING. CAN YOU EMPATHIZE ENOUGH TO SEE HOW THIS AFFECTS A MAN? FOR FORTY YEARS…MY ENTIRE LIFE…I HAVE LISTENED TO THESE ARGUMENTS YET WHEN A MAN SPEAKS UP…OR A WOMAN WHO IS SLIGHTLY WILLING TO EMPATHIZE (SUZANNE VENKER) SHE IS THEN LAMBASTED FOR TRYING TO BRIDGE A GAP IN MISUNDERSTANDING…OUR BODIES ARE DESIGNED DIFFERENTLY, DIFFERENT PARTS, DIFFERENT MUSCLE GROUPINGS, DIFFERENT BRAIN CHEMICALS, DIFFERENT AGING PROCESSES FOR A REASON…WE ARE TRYING TO FIND THOSE REASONS TO BE HARMONIOUS NOT TO ARGUE! SADLY I FEEL IN THIS DAY AND AGE WE SIMPLY DO NOT OR CANNOT MAKE THE TIME TO EXPLAIN THINGS TO EACH OTHER. SADLY MONEY AND SELF ESTEEM AND THE ABILITY TO PROVIDE ARE ATTACHED TO OUR SENSE OF SELF WORTH BUT THAT’S THE WAY IT IS I GUESS?
    AND BY THE WAY…I’M NOT TYPING IN CAPS BECAUSE I’M YELLING…I’M NEARLY BLIND AND HAVE HEADACHES TRYING TO READ SMALL PRINT. TRY TO PUT YOURSELF INTO THE THINKING OF A KIND MAN, WHAT HE WAS TAUGHT, AND YOU’LL SEE ALL HE WANTED WAS TO SUPPORT YOU, TO PLEASE YOU, TO MAKE YOU HAPPY. I HOPE THIS CLARIFIES THINGS SLIGHTLY. IF NOT I AM SORRY…AGAIN. I’M JUST ANOTHER ARCHAIC MAN I GUESS…GUESS I’M NOT PROGRESSIVE ENOUGH…GUESS I SHOULD TAKE MY BUILDING AND ART SKILLS AND JUST HANG MYSELF.

    • shaybrandon December 5, 2012 at 10:56 am #

      I except that you have a different opinion from me and that you are entitled to it. You make good points and I think I can understand your point of view.

      With that being said I will admit that I do not agree with you. My point is that women are being accused of acting like men because they want to have jobs and be independent. What is so wrong with that? I do not see a problem with wanting to have a career, I would not have rely on someone else for money.

      I do not take it personally if a man wants to provide for me but I was raised to provide and take care of myself. I do not want a man to provide for me, it has nothing at all to do with men. It is something that I personally do not want.

      If I made it sound like I was man-bashing I apologize. I was not trying to go for that. I just do not think that it is necessarily fair women should have to rely on a man.

Comments are closed.

