Is the military draft sexist?

7 Dec

I’m discussing the military with some girls who have parents in different branches and we started talking about the military draft. I know when I was 18 I did not have to register for the draft but every male I’ve met has. I decided to do some research and the  Selective Service System states that all men must register but not women. Is the military draft sexist by not requiring women to register?

One Response to “Is the military draft sexist?”

  1. jcjohnson3 December 8, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    Yeah, it is a sexist system. But I think people aren’t eager to change it because making women sign up for the draft isn’t popular politically…I mean, the draft in general isn’t popular. People are upset the system even exists.

Comments are closed.

