Disney taught girls bad lessons

9 Dec

Living in a fairy tale isn’t going to get you anywhere but your dream. I loved watching Disney movies when I was younger and even today but watching them now when I’m older I realize how unrealistic some of these stories are and I have to wonder if I want to have my kids watching these movies. I know that some of the movies like Snow White and Cinderella were made later in time where the stories weren’t that far off of how women were viewed but for young girls of today im sad to say the Disney classics may not be the appropriate choice.

Some examples from the article (its pretty interesting you should take a look at):

The Supposed Message:

Treat others the way you wish to be treated!

The Actual Message:

Underneath the abusive exterior of your man is a loving heart he’s just dying to share with you.

First of all, Belle was a prisoner in the Beast’s castle. Nothing says “I love you” like house arrest. Secondly, he wasn’t exactly whispering sweet nothings in her ear. The Beast hurled insults at Belle at every chance, and came close to pimp slapping the crap out of her on more than one occasion.

