Link

Dressing Modestly

9 Dec

Dressing Modestly

I found this article on Jezebel.com, and it is about women dressing modestly.  The article discusses the gendered history of modesty in a woman’s appearance.  The argument was made in the article that since modest-clothing’s beginning- it has been a way for men to oppress women, that by telling a women what she should or shouldn’t wear, is society’s way of saying that women are not in charge of their own bodies.  I am curious what everyone’s take on the matter is.   

2 Responses to “Dressing Modestly”

  1. missnile December 9, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    I believe in dressing appropriately for an occasion or venue and it goes for women as well as men. I found the article to be very biased in opinion and did not touch the subject of modesty for men which by the way was very strict during the time period referenced. I don’t like seeing a guys boxers showing as much as I don’t like to see a woman’s thong.

    • clairekochmer December 9, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

      I think not addressing men was the point. The groups that the article was reporting on did not hardly address the men in their “cause” either.

Comments are closed.

